ASMI Annual Conference 2012 and AGM 2012

ASMI 2012 Conference

Speaker Presentations

Please note: some of these files are large and may take time to open.

Click here for a summary of the day plus a selection of photos.

2012 Sponsors


Click here for more information about the Waterview Convention Centre in Bicentennial Park (located within the Sydney Olympic Park precinct).


Geoffrey Annison PhD
Deputy Chief Executive, Australian Food & Grocery Council (AFGC)

Dr Geoffrey Annison joined the AFGC in October 2007. He has wide experience in food regulation and innovation, having held a number of senior technical and management roles in industry in Australia and overseas, in academia, and in public policy.
Click here for Geoffrey's full bio.

Geoffery Annison


  John Bronger
President, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia - NSW Branch

John Bronger has been a passionate contributor to the pharmaceutical industry stretching over 38 years, which has earned him industry respect through his commitment to make a difference.
             He was recognised for his services to the pharmacy industry recently with an OAM for his notable contributions.

Click here for John's full bio.

 John Bronger

  Dr Simon Fradd
GP and Member, Self Care Forum Board (UK)

             Simon Fradd has been a GP since 1986. He has a particular interest in depression and anxiety and in surgery. He qualified as a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons for England in 1983. Simon is currently one of eight clinical leads responsible for purchasing healthcare for a population of 320,000 people in London with a £520 million budget.

Click here for Simon's full bio.

 Simon Fradd


  Dr Stewart Jessamine
Group Manager, Corporate, Medsafe (NZ)

Born and raised in Scotland, Stewart joined the New Zealand medicines regulatory authority (Medsafe) in 1993.
             Stewart's career has taken him from rural General Practitioner to Group Manager of Medsafe. Stewart is an articulate advocate of pragmatic risk management.

Click here for Stewart's full bio.


 Stewart Jessamine


  Dr Gary Mortimer
International Business, QUT Business School, Queensland University of Technology

Dr Gary Mortimer spent 20 years in the retail sector, working in management and operations positions with Australia's leading retailers. He completed his PhD in 2009 before joining QUT in 2010. He currently lectures in International Business, Market Research and Consumer Behaviour. His research interests lie in consumer behaviour and how such behaviour relates to retail operations.

Click here for Gary's full bio.

 Dr Gary Mortimer

  George Negus
TV Presenter & Journalist

For the past 25 years George Negus has been at the forefront of Australian political journalism earning considerable recognition as an international correspondent and charming audiences with his wit, humour and incisive style. George currently presents Dateline - the SBS flagship current affairs program. In 2004, George hosted George Negus Tonight on ABC Television.

Click here for George's full bio.

 George Negas

  Francine Nieto
Global Marketing Director, IMS Consumer Health (UK)

As Global Marketing Director of IMS Consumer Health, Francine's current focus is to extend IMS' consumer health coverage, primarily in Asia Pacific and Latin America, in information and analytics to support consumer health companies optimise their commercial effectiveness globally.

Click here for Francine's full bio.

 Francine Neito



Katherine Rich
CEO, New Zealand Food and Grocery Council (NZ)

Katherine Rich is the CEO of the New Zealand Food and Grocery Council, the industry body representing food and grocery suppliers. She represents FGC members on a range of boards and Government panels.

Click here for Katherine's full bio.

 Katherine Rich


  Craig Rispin CSP
Business Futurist & Innovation Expert, Future Trends Group

Craig Rispin is a Business Futurist and Innovation Expert. His expertise is in emerging business, people and technology trends - and how companies can profit from them. Craig has over 20 years experience working where the future has been created - with some of the most innovative companies in the world in the IT, consumer electronics, internet and broadcasting industries.

Click here for Craig's full bio.

 Craig Rispin

 Juliet Seifert
former ASMI Executive Director

Juliet Seifert was Executive Director of the Australian Self Medication Industry (ASMI) from July 1989 to August 2010. During her time in the role, Juliet was a strong proponent of the National Medicines Policy, a tireless advocate of the importance of the consumer's point-of-view in healthcare decision-making, and consistently advanced the cause of responsible self-medication.

Click here for Juliet's full bio.

 Juliet Stieffart

  Dr John Skerritt
National Manager, Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA)

Dr John Skerritt has a PhD in Pharmacology, is an adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland, and from 2009-2012 was a Deputy Secretary of the Department of Primary Industries in the Victorian Government. John has extensive experience in medical, agricultural and environmental policy, regulation, research, research management, technology application and commercialisation.

Click here for John's full bio.

 Dr Skerritt

  David Skinner
President, Consumer Health Products Canada (Canada)

David Skinner is a biochemist working in the Healthcare field. After having received a BSc (Hon.), he began his career conducting laboratory research for the International Joint Commission prior to an appointment to the National Research Council of Canada. He spent his early career conducting practical research.

Click here for David's full bio.

 Dave Skinner


  Dr David E Webber
Director-General, World Self-Medication Industry (WSMI) (France)

Dr David Webber is the Director-General of the World Self-Medication Industry (WSMI), a federation of around 50 member associations representing manufacturers and distributors of non-prescription (OTC) medicines on all continents. In this capacity he has been particularly involved in the development of the non-prescription medicines industry in emerging countries in Latin America, the Middle East and the Asia Pacific Region, especially China.

Click here for David's full bio.

David Webber 





The 38th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Australian Self-Medication Industry (ASMI) was held on Tuesday 11 December 2012 in The Parlour, The Langham Sydney (formerly The Observatory Hotel), 89-113 Kent St, Sydney.

The AGM was followed by a Celebratory Lunch in the Observatory Ballroom of The Langham Sydney where three long-standing contributors to ASMI and the industry were honoured:

Former ASMI Executive Director, Juliet Seifert, was made an Honorary Life Member of ASMI. Click here for more information.      

Former ASMI QUM Manager, Mary Emanuel, received the ASMI Award for Excellence. Click here for more information on Mary's Award. 

Retiring Regional Director of Reckitt Benckiser, and ASMI President 2010-12, Lindsay Forrest (pictured below), was thanked for his leadership, vision and passion for the industry and ASMI.

Lindsay Forrest